United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

October 14, 2020

The Honorable Alex M. Azar II Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 330 C Street, SW Washington, D.C. 20416

Dear Secretary Azar:

With passage of the continuing resolution, we write to urge the Department of Health and Human Services to release Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) funds as quickly and at the highest level possible.

As the main federal program that helps low-income households and seniors with their energy bills, LIHEAP provides critical assistance during the cold winter and hot summer months. October marks the start of the heating season for many states and low-income families and seniors will be facing additional strains on their household budgets. In addition, millions of low-income families, including seniors, are facing new and severe financial hardship due to the coronavirus, making the assistance provided through LIHEAP more important than ever.

As state agencies work to prepare their LIHEAP programs for the coming winter, it is crucial that they have the resources they need to assist low-income households and seniors as soon as possible, especially in light of the current health crisis. As such, we request that you quickly release LIHEAP funds at the highest level possible to allow states to prepare for the upcoming season, so that low-income households do not have to choose between paying for heat and affording other necessities like food or medicine.

We look forward to continuing to work with you on this critical program, and thank you for your attention to our concerns and those of our constituents.

Sincerely,

Ja**¢**k **R**eed

United States Senator

Susan M. Collins

United States Senator

Swan M Collins

Fatist Centy

Patrick Leahy United States Senator

Patty Murray
United States Senator

axue Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator /s/ Lisa A. Murkowski

Lisa A. Murkowski United States Senator

/s/ John Hoeven

John Hoeven United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

/s/ Dianne Feinstein

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Angus King United States Senator

/s/ Sheldon Whitehouse

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator /s/ Debbie Stabenow

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

/s/ Richard Blumenthal

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator /s/ Maria Cantwell

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator /s/ Cory A. Booker

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

/s/ Tammy Baldwin

Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Michael Bennet

United States Senator

/s/ Kyrsten Sinema

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

/s/ Gary C. Peters

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Joe Manchin III
United States Senator

Shurad Brown

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Edward J. Markey
United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

/s/ Ron Wyden

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

/s/ Christopher S. Murphy

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin

United States Senator

United States Senator

/s/ Doug Jones

Doug Jones

United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth

United States Senator