Sinema Hosts Meeting with GoWest Credit Union Association, Discusses Building a Healthy Arizona Economy Where Everyone Benefits

Mar 9, 2023

Senator recently introduced bipartisan legislation helping Arizona families receive better services from their local credit unions

WASHINGTON – Arizona senior Senator Kyrsten Sinema met with the GoWest Credit Union Association to discuss fueling economic opportunities for everyday Arizonans, including Sinema’s newly-introduced Credit Union Board Modernization Act – bipartisan legislation reducing costs and maximizing efficiency to help Arizonans, especially in rural areas, access services from their local credit unions to purchase homes, obtain credit, and get ahead.
“Arizonans across our state depend on local credit unions to help them build better lives for themselves and their families. I’m committed to working with partners like the GoWest Credit Union Association to advance my commonsense, bipartisan legislation into law and continue building a healthy economy where all Arizonans benefit,” said Sinema.
Sinema’s newly-introduced Credit Union Board Modernization Act modernizes requirements for board meetings of credit unions, which can be costly and have a negative impact on everyday Arizonans who rely on their local credit union for critical banking services, such as paying their bills, obtaining credit, buying a home, and more.
Arizona credit unions exist to serve their members and their interests by offering access to checking, credit, and depository services. Many credit unions, particularly in rural Arizona, are smaller and have fewer staff. Convening and running a successful board meeting is an important priority for a credit union but also requires substantial investment in time and operating expenses, in both preparing for and running the meeting.
Last year, Northwest Credit Union Association and the Mountain West Credit Union Association merged and are now collectively the GoWest Credit Union Association, representing the credit unions in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming.