Arizona Congressional Delegation Writes to President in Support of Navajo Nation Major Disaster Declaration

May 2, 2019

WASHINGTON – Arizona Senators Kyrsten Sinema and Martha McSally along with Representatives Tom O’Halleran (AZ-1), Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-2), Raul Grijalva (AZ-3), Paul Gosar (AZ-4), Andy Biggs (AZ-5), David Schweikert (AZ-6), Ruben Gallego (AZ-7), Debbie Lesko (AZ-8), and Greg Stanton (AZ-9) wrote to President Trump today to support a disaster declaration for the Navajo Nation. The Navajo Nation experienced historic snowstorms and subsequent flooding this winter and submitted a formal Major Disaster Declaration earlier this week.

“We are writing in support of President Jonathan Nez’s request for a major disaster declaration for the Navajo Nation,” the Arizona Congressional Delegation wrote. “As you know, the Navajo Nation is a particularly impoverished region of the State of Arizona, with a median household income of $27,389. Their poverty rate is more than twice that of the State of Arizona. These large expenditures for necessary lifesaving and protective measures puts necessary services for the Navajo Nation’s most vulnerable citizens at risk going forward.”